boy or girl?

30 Oct

I have had some questions from people wondering if we have found out if Angel is a girl or a boy.  We have not seen or heard any autopsy results yet, so no, we do not know.  We did hear from one of the Doctors that the first preliminary tests they ran did not have any results about gender.  This same Dr. told us that it could take anywhere from two to six months to get the autopsy results back.  So, we wait.

Truth is, it honestly doesn’t matter to me if Angel is a girl or a boy.  Either way, Angel is in heaven, perfect and healthy.  It wouldn’t change the way I love Angel to know if our baby is a girl or a boy. In my heart, I think that they are not going to have any results about gender.  Also, I find it very interesting that in the Bible, the angels did not have gender either.  I believe our Angel truly is one of God’s angels.  What I am anxiously awaiting on is to find out if they find any reason to believe that this could happen again in future pregnancies.  I just know my heart could not take another loss like this one.

One Response to “boy or girl?”

  1. Jackie October 30, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    My first thought, when I heard that Angel’s sex was undetermined, was “How Perfect!” Just like the angels of the bible. And I hadn’t thought about it since until last night. I was doing my sociology homework and came to the chapter on “Sexuality and Society.” I was fascinated by the section on “Intersexual People.” By definition, these are people whose bodies (including genitals) have both female and male characteristics. It said that intersexuality is both natural and very rare. The older term for this is “hermaphrodite,” which is derived from Hermaphroditus, the child of the mythological Greek gods Hermes and Aphrodite, who embodied both sexes. It also talked about how our culture here in the United States demands that sex be clear-cut and how parents are required to record the sex of a child at birth as either female or male. Culturally, we are a little behind the times, because here intersexuality is usually either looked on with confustion, or thought to be a bad thing. The rest of the world has a better take on it, and it listed how several other cultures view intersexuality, but my favorite veiw came from the Navajo. It said the Navajo look on intersexual people with awe, seeing in them the full potential of both the female and the male. I love that and I think that is an excellent description of angels as well, they embody the full potential of both the female and the male.

    I love Greek mythology and thought this was interesting as well: Hermes was the cleverest of the Olympian gods, and messenger to all the other gods. Aphrodite is the goddess of love, desire and beauty. So their child, Hermaphroditus, was the child of the goddess of love and messenger to the gods. That sounds like the description of an angel to me 🙂

    What a gift, your Angel is really and truly your angel, in every way.

Leave a comment

Baby, Are you Coming?

A personal journey in trying for our first baby

My Perfect Breakdown

-- Surviving. Living. Hoping. -- Recurrent Pregnancy Loss & Adoption

Maybe Baby...

Our Journey to Parenthood

Infertility: My Journey

A medic's experience

She Patiently Waits

My Journey Through IVF

From zero to zygote

Infertility | Adoption | Random bletherings

Meet the Hopefuls

Building our family through IVF

stitchingafamily

one stitch at a time

A Mourning Mom

living with grief, loss of children

Eccentric Writing

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.

Life Must Go On

A day in the life of a mommy without her sweet baby...Carter Benjamin

A journey of Life, Loss, Hope and Strength

A journey through the loss of our daughter Isabelle Skye, born 20 weeks too soon and our lives after...Even when we are in darkness we always seek the light...

abide in his love

For in Him I am made new

andsoiwait

My journey through infertility and miscarriage

Journey in the Woods

A woman's journey in the woods of infertility and infant loss.

Stacie Snell

Living life as victorious women through faith in His Name

A Fathers Hope

Bringing encouragement to those who have lost a child